The Great Cappuccino Challenge 2k12


I have a first world problem.

Germany is too damn affordable.

As someone who’s travelled to Europe pretty extensively, especially in recent memory, I am far too used to walking around Europe looking for a cafe to park my derriere for a pick-me-up only to be faced with menus advertising 4 euro (or quid) lattes.  In fact, in Paris, I remember seeing Ventis in Starbucks going for as much as 5.60.

So it’s easy to imagine that I’ve been losing my marbles here over the cappuccinos that typically go for a measly 2 euro.  I have especially been looking forward to these treats on school days when I am too rushed to make myself coffee or need something to warm me up before the 15 minute walk to school.

However, now that I’ve been here for almost a month I realized that my daily caffeine-happy habit has racked up to quite the pretty penny: 10-15 euros per week.  If this habit continues for the next three months, Imma be broke faster than you can say Vergangenheitsbewälstigung.  

Therefore, I am checking myself before wrecking myself imposing this public self-intervention.  For the rest of the trip, I will not buy cappuccinos/fancy coffee drinks during the school week.  The 60 cent coffee I get from the Mensa to beat the 2:30 slump is the exception to this rule.  Seeing as the weather right now averages out around 10 degrees Fahrenheit these days, it’s gonna be a challenge not to stop for something warm on the way to school.  Nevertheless, I hate feeling like I am blowing through cash like it’s going out of style.  Every week I plan on checking in to hold myself accountable, and I’ll post how much money I’ve saved each week.  Hopefully, the accumulating amount will motivate me to commit.

So, here goes.  COFFEE BE DAMNED.

Leave a Reply

